Goodbye, Zankyou no Terror

I wanted too cry after I realized I had wasted my life watching this anime tooIt’s the final episode, so let’s recount what’s happened with the characters this series:

-Nine was a brooding emo who smiled twice in the last episode.
-Twelve had a goofy smile on his face the entire series.
-Five was a psychotic sociopath, then made a selfless sacrifice with little to no explanation as to why she had such a change of heart.
-Shibazaki was a Gary Stu who successfully solved all of the riddles (except for one really stupid moment in the last episode that I’m going to have fun addressing).
-Lisa got kidnapped twice.

All of the main characters in this series were just good, and they were all victims in one way or another. There were no attempts at depth. It was just a self-indulgent story meant to rake in blu-ray sales from people who hated high school.

But anyways, this last episode was incredibly dumb. First off, Shibazaki had trouble figuring out how a bomb could explode in the fucking air.I'm not proud of everything I've done but I'm very proud of myself for taking this screenshotLook! It wasn’t that hard to figure out. That character’s an idiot and he did it.

And as for this high altitude explosion thing… I’m not a nuclear physicist, so maybe it makes sense. Maybe radioactive waste is just like helium and only rises. And hey, why wouldn’t a nuclear bomb act like an EMP if it was high in the air? I assume this writer did as much research on the subject as he did on the Oedipus myth (i.e. none), so it should all check out.

Oh, and Shibazaki just starts working with the investigators at headquarters again. Wasn’t he fired? Oh well, Gary Stus have privileges.

Isn't it funny how useliss Lisa is why aren't you laughing at useless female characters

And why use the nuke as an EMP anyways? Was that part of Nine’s plan to show the Japanese government how corrupt it is? What the fuck did those lights mean, anyways?

And… when the U.S. operatives came…

I need to take a deep breath for this one.

Okay, so Nine’s holding the detonator, right?

Why in the fuck would they ever shoot Twelve first?

Why in the fuck would they ever sit around as Nine and Lisa got all emotional? Why not just take out the second target?

Why in the fuck would they not shoot Nine just because Shibazaki asked them not to? Why did they just wait for his fucking illness to kill him?

Oh wait, I know why! It’s because this scene didn’t exist to make sense. It existed to emotionally manipulate you. Twelve dies first because let’s face it, no one gives a shit about that emo Nine. I don’t care much for Twelve either at this point, but I assume most people like Twelve more than Nine. Then the operatives don’t shoot for a bit because how could you possibly know you’re sad unless you can see the characters cry?

This anime is a pile of wasted potential heaped on top of shitty writing. It could have been good, had the writer spent any time creating moral complexity to, you know, terrorists with a justified cause. But for some fucking reason, the show was dumbed down to the point of absurdity. While I definitely enjoyed episode four, this show has so much going against it that I can barely factor it into my judgment of the series.

Score: 3/10

Leave a comment