Zankyou no Terror Episode 9

he forgot to take an umbrella what a shitty terroristWhen I said I was dropping this anime, I thought I meant it. But I had forgotten something very important about myself: I enjoy hatewatching stuff more than I enjoy watching stuff I actually like. SAO II is honestly the anime this season I’m most excited for. But using the term “hatewatch” for Zankyou no Terror feels a bit odd. People who like SAO II tend to like other shitty anime, which makes it even easier to group SAO II into the category of shitty anime. Terror, on the other hand, is more popular among the respectable literary elites of the anime community. It’s baffling to me, because if Reki did half the stuff Terror is doing, those people would be slamming this anime.

To illustrate what I mean:look isnt this anime almost as good as clannadThis is the same shit that Black Bullet and Kanon pull. Take a cute girl, don’t develop her character much, but put her in a pitiable situation and have her cry. There are people who like this anime that would normally never forgive this kind of shit. Yet because Terror’s got a BA in pretentious, I guess it’s allowed. What has Lisa done throughout the entire series? She has only displayed agency once, and that is when she abandoned her regular life to throw her lot in with the terrorists. But that’s it. She ran away from an abusive life, and then nothing.

And let’s not forget how fucking self-indulgent this anime is. Shibazaki’s been a Gary Stu with a shit life throughout the series, but look at this: I can only oddIt turns out that the mastermind behind the Athena project is also the source of Shibazaki’s demotion! How convenient! In the process of doing whatever he wants, consequences be damned, he’ll also get a sort of spiritual revenge against the man who wronged him! Hear that, kids? Don’t bother thinking about the consequences of your actions because fate and coincidence will side with you!

But oh, Twelve sold Nine out for Lisa! I’m sure that’s going to have consequences! Wait, I forget that Nine’s a main character. He’s going to get away scotch free. It’s probably because the people pursuing him are idiots. I mean, they shot at a guy who was carrying a bomb. What if they had hit the bomb? It’s a good thing they have storm trooper levels of accuracy.

But wait! Clarence has realized that Five is evil! Doesn’t this mean the anime’s improving? Yeah, I’m glad Clarence realized that Five’s a comic book villain after knowing her for god knows how long. At the very least, it took him less time to realize it than it took the writer.

I guess that scene at the beginning where Shibazaki and co. interrogated someone involved with the Athena project was okay, but it didn’t feel particularly original. He confesses his sins, cop calls him a monster, in old age he has learned the guilt. What I’m getting at is that there was nothing good about this shitty episode of this shitty anime and you shouldn’t watch it.

Leave a comment